I Love This Band

13 05 2008

Last night I went to see Vampire Weekend at the Wedgewood rooms and they were superb.  I think they are great and are along with DLSvsSP are my favourite band at the moment.  They started with Mansard Roof and finished with Walcott (funny that, playing a song about an ex-Southampton player in Portsmouth as your encore) via the whole album and more.  Oxford Comma was a real highlight though, and for the 45 minutes or so that they were on, all was right with my world.

The support band had some good tunes, but the lead singer looked like a chavvy Ian Curtis (of Joy Division) and insisted on singing everything with loads of Echo effect and it was still on even when he spoke.  This sounded really terrible.  Altogether they weren’t great which is good because I don’t feel too guilty about forgetting their names.

Oh yeah, Happy Birthday to me.